Обложка книги As of This Writing: The Essential Essays, 1968-2002

As of This Writing: The Essential Essays, 1968-2002

ISBN: 0393051803;
Издательство: W. W. Norton & Company
Страниц: 640

Book DescriptionIt is impossible not to be awed by the remarkable range and massive erudition of Clive James, one of the greatest literary critics of our age. In the tradition of Edmund Wilson, James is a brilliant stylist so perceptive (and funny) that he renders the twisted literary terrain of the twentieth century remarkably accessible. In As of This Writing James has assembled his most ambitious and expansive collection to date, a book that features forty-nine essays on poetry, film, culture, and fiction written between 1967 and 2001. Whether commenting on poets like Auden or Jarrell, novelists like D. H. Lawrence and James Agee (not to mention Judith Krantz), or filmmakers like Fellini or Bogdanovich, James delights his readers with his manicenergy and critical aplomb. This volume is a literary education that few recent books can rival.

Похожие книги:

What would you see if you could peek inside the mind of…
"No one covers technology with more insight or panache …
This new edition of Clive Matson's early poems includes…
One of the most influential religious writers of his da…

Clive Cussler
For five novels, Clive Cussler has brought readers into…

Jesse Russell
Requiem for a Species: Why We Resist the Truth about Cl…

Alan Veale
Chrissie Fersen desperately wants to know how she is co…
A brilliant examination into how the internet is profou…

Christopher Baines
Reylan is everything a Sydney vampire aspires to be: we…

J. W. Schnarr
In this collection of 21 short stories, J.W. Schnarr wr…
S. T. Joshi has established himself as a leading critic…