Обложка книги The Theory of the Leisure Class: An Economic Study of Institutions (Great Minds Series)

The Theory of the Leisure Class: An Economic Study of Institutions (Great Minds Series)

ISBN: 1573922196;
Издательство: Prometheus Books

Almost a century after its original publication, Thorstein Veblen's work is as fresh and relevant as ever. Veblen's The Theory of the Leisure Class is in the tradition of Adam Smith's The Wealth of Nations and Thomas Hobbes's Leviathan , yet it provides a surprisingly contemporary look at American economics and society. Establishing such terms as "conspicuous consumption" and "pecuniary emulation," Veblen's most famous work has become an archetype not only of economic theory, but of historical and sociological thought as well. As sociologist Alan Wolfe writes in his Introduction, Veblen "skillfully . . . wrote a book that will be read so long as the rich are different from the rest of us; which, if the future is anything like the past, they always will be."

Похожие книги:

In his first and best-known book, Veblen defines the so…
THE THEORY OF THE LEISURE CLASS is considered one of th
The Theory of the Leisure Class is one of the great wor…
'Conspicuous consumption of valuable goods is a means o…
2013 Reprint of 1904 Edition. Full facsimile of the ori…
Thorstein Bunde Veblen (1857-1929) was a Norwegian- Ame…
Thorstein Bunde Veblen (1857-1929) was a Norwegian- Ame…
Large format paper back for easy reading. Veblen's infl
"The Theory of the Leisure Class" is a classic examinat…
Thorstein Veblen was once described by Fortune magazine…
Thorstein Veblen was once described by Fortune magazine…
THE THEORY OF THE LEISURE CLASS is considered one of th