Обложка книги For the Common Good?  American Civic Life and the Golden Age of Fraternity

For the Common Good? American Civic Life and the Golden Age of Fraternity

ISBN: 0195148576;
Издательство: Oxford University Press

The Golden Age of Fraternity was a unique time in American History. "Jinners"--and from 1870-1910 more than half of all Americans participated in clubs, fraternities, militias, and mutual benefit societies--helped create a booming associational life in America between the Civil and First World Wars. Today this period is held up as a model for a revitalization of contemporary civil society. But what if these much-admired voluntary organizations more often served parochial reasons than the general good? This work aims to dispel many of the myths about the curative powers of clubbing while bringing to light the hidden lessons therein. Relying on extensive analysis of city directories, club histories and membership lists, Kaufman shows that organizational activity in the late 19th and early 20th centuries had more to do with pragmatic interests than with civic engagement. The rise of associational life began with organizations that helped cover the increasing cost of burial in the decades...

Похожие книги:

Robert R. Kaufman, Stephan Haggard, Janos Kornai
Countries of the former Soviet Union and Eastern Europe…
Book Description"The search for peace in the world must…

Bruce Kaufman, Julie L. Hotchkiss
Widely regarded as the best, most comprehensive text av…
It is the rare book that remains in print for nearly fi…
Book DescriptionPlastic Madonnas, packaged holy tours, …

Latha Stead, S. Matthew Stead, Matthew S. Kaufman
The Student-to-Student, Step-by-Step Guide to Radiology…

Jennifer Kaufman, Karen Mack
A novel for anyone who’s ever had to riskit all to be t…

Jennifer Kaufman, Karen Mack
From the critically acclaimed authors of the #1 Los Ang…
U.S. National Security Strategy for the 1990s
U.S. National Security Strategy for the 1990s
Kaufman: ?enhanced? Sound – 22 Electronics Project S Fo
In the tradition of The Art of War and The Book of Five…
В центральной России есть города, которые имеют особенн…